You Want To Know What?!

I’m on of those fans that tries to keep track of who plays where and how they got there. I know, I know, crazy me.

I have just spent the better part of 2 hours trying to update the roster of players I keep for teams, on a spreadsheet, with the information I care to keep up with.

2 hours! I’m not building the spreadsheets, just updating them. This should not take that much time. But it does, and here’s why:

Every team has a different format for rosters. Some have great info on players, some just bare bones, but it’s switching formats from site to site that’s maddening. Not just that, but the TEAM rosters are not up to date. Some list players on the injured list, both 45 day and season-ending. Some list neither. Some still have players they’ve waived. Some list the status of players, like active, injured, etc. Some want you to guess.

There are a lot of things NWSL is getting right, slowly. This is not one of them and they easily could. I have no idea if standards have been established for such things as minimum info on rosters, or contents of websites, but it wouldn’t be a bad idea.

If you think I’m kidding, go to nwslsoccer.com and look for player transactions..go ahead, I’ll wait. Couldn’t find them listed, could you? If you want to find a particular transaction you have to search under the “NEWS” tab or go to the team site and do the same.

Want to find out if a particular player is injured or on 45 or season-ending list..nope, have to search for that, too.

This is the 3rd year of the league and it’s really no better in this regard than the 1st year. If NWSL admin doesn’t set standards, then the owners have to, don’t tell me “no one else does it” because that’s the most lame of all lame excuses.

Some sort of uniformity and an easy place to find info would go a long way to keep fans up to date and interested.

At least this fan.

Leave a Reply

