World Cup 2015 Is Here!

The Opening Ceremony and first game are today. Hardly seems real after waiting four years. But, it is real. And it’s here.

I tossed around whether to write anything about it, I’m very conflicted with the social media interactions I’ve had lately. I usually can live with incessant criticism of everything American by natives and foreigners alike, but I have a hard time when it gets right down to the competition.

I’m a homer. A proud, flag-waving, hotdog-eating, bleed red, white, and blue, if-you-don’t-like-it gtfo-American, on game days. It’s not that I don’t know in a rational sense that it’s possible the outcome could be different than what I want or expect, it’s that I don’t care about the rational during the competition. I don’t care about your arguments that this team, or that player, or some coach is better. I only care that 23 players and a cadre of coaches and staff have put all they have into the preparation, have sacrificed regular lives and livelihoods to represent me at the pinnacle of their sport, have chosen to give everything they have for this competition. And in my mind I owe them. I owe them my unashamed support, my loyalty, and my unwavering belief that they can win.

On game day I am “I BELIEVE THAT WE WILL WIN” to my very core.

So, if you don’t share my homer-ism, I don’t care. On game day I don’t care about analysis, criticism, or attempts to get a rise out of people who don’t share your cynicism. All of that can wait until the event is over and the awards have been given. After all, we’ll have another four years to talk it to death before we do it again.

 

 

Leave a Reply

