So Many Thoughts, So Little Motivation

I have to chip the new kitten. My car A/C needs service. When will the finalized NWSL rosters come out? Did I eat breakfast? How and where do I subscribe for team streams? Why does my neighbor keep taking my parking spot? Jerk! Who designed this knee brace? They need to be in another line of work.

See what I mean..so many thoughts.

I’ve been remiss in my blogging, so look out! I’m not going to play catch-up as much as I’m going to empty out some of this stuff in my brain weighing me down..maybe then I’ll get motivated. I won’t bore you with my kitten, A/C, breakfast, neighbor, or knee brace thoughts, so that leaves NWSL.

NWSL! I truly am excited that the inaugural game is less than a week away. I will be traveling to Overland Park, Kansas on April 13th to watch FC Kansas City do battle with Portland Thorns FC in the first professional game for both teams in the first game of the New! Improved! USSF run! Fully Professional! National Women’s Soccer League!

I know, I know, there are many things we still don’t know about the teams and the league. Like official rosters, all the team uniforms, which teams will have free streams and which will have subscriptions, but you know, that really doesn’t matter to me. The teams will all finalize a roster, none of them will play naked and I will watch whatever is available, at whatever cost. I am a supporter and because I am a supporter I will suck up some of the shortcomings at the beginning to get to the payoff at the end.

The league warned us it would be less about the hype and more about the product on the field and boy have they stuck to their word. I listen to all the “wishes” on Twitter and read the comments on blogs. I’d be lying if I said I didn’t have my own wish list of what I’d like to see the league doing. At this point it’s a little futile to dwell on that list, the season is at hand and it’s up to me to do as much as I can to make it a damn successful one. And If I’m joined by all the other people who say that’s what they want too, we’ll have a second season to get more of what we want as fans.

All I ask of my fellow fans is to be reasonable in your criticism and fanatical in your support, NOT the other way around. I can assure you that each team wants to do the best for the players, the team, and the league. The players want to play their best, after all they not only love the game, they’re getting PAID to do this. The coaches and owners want to give you the best product on the field and the best atmosphere in the stands, their survival depends on it. The league wants this to be a sustainable model so we can have a development path for future generations of gold medal winners and World Cup champions. I can also assure you that each team will take a slightly different journey to get there. The great thing about that is every team will be unique, every game day experience will be different and hopefully every fan will find a team, not just a player, they want to support.

So what do you say, let’s become a league wide supporters group. A group that no matter how much we don’t like the uniforms, the websites, the streams, the roster choices, the venues, the commentators, the refs, or the music selections, we support the league. A group that buys as many tickets as they can afford, as much merchandise as is available, as many streams as your eyes can handle. A group that talks up the league to friends, family and strangers. A group that defends the league to detractors, not because the league is always right, but because it is OUR league and we want it to become recognized as the best in the world.

Good Luck to all the players, teams, coaching staffs, support folks, volunteers, sponsors and owners. May this be the first season of many more to come.

O.K. I’ve got to go get out of this cheerleader costume..it doesn’t fit me, but I hope you get what I’m trying to say.

Go  Boston Breakers!

Leave a Reply

